Marking Moments

photo-e1404434527481

I sat there gazing up at the Celtic Knot stained glass in the Irish pub. It was lovely. But it wasn’t necessarily a spectacular sight.

It’s rare beauty wasn’t the reason I was staring at it.

I was marking a moment in time.

Ever had that urge to just stop and mark the moment you are in?

While at an incredible music concert for instance, you might stop and stare at, say, a light fixture or the backdrop to the entertainer, just to anchor yourself there, in the moment, knowing full well the evening is about to come to an end.

Or have you been on vacation and knew the week’s stay was just about over and you found yourself strangely pausing? Perhaps you are transfixed by an incoming wave on the ocean. Or maybe you close your eyes and inhale deeply that gentle fragrant beachy breeze you can’t enjoy at home?

I don’t know if its because I am a writer or if its just me being human, but lately I have tried my best to anchor myself in exactly those kinds of moments.

I don’t want the experience to pass without me consciously, with targeted focus, taking it all in.

There is enjoyment and then there is fully awake-conscious experiencing.

In our day-to-day lives we tend to “just live.” We go through the motions, share our smiles and hugs, take photos, comment on how great this or that was but do we really take it all in?

I think as I get older I am more aware of fleeting instances, episodes in my life that I don’t want to forget. I want to be able to recall them with a real vigor and alertness.

I want to savour, admire, tune in, watch, look, observe, smell, feel my experiences… before they drift on into the ether of moving memory.

Maybe that’s why writing is the perfect fit for me. I can’t stop writing it all down, taking note of everything and all. I honestly do not want anything to slip away.

So when I sat on the balcony of the family resort we visited recently and looked out into the night at a Canadian flag hung especially for the Canada Day festivities the next day, I knew what I was doing.

I toasted that moment with a glass of wine, I smiled, savoured and recognized it would soon be over.

But fortunately, I remembered it well enough to share it with you here.

Don’t let anything pass you by!

Mark your moments with focus. Only then can you truly experience them.

And a hearty toast to the many Amazing Summer memories that lie ahead!

peekiequeen thoughts, copyright Thursday, July 3, 2014

A belated HAPPY CANADA DAY to all my Canadian Friends.

And a HAPPY INDEPENDENCE DAY to my American blogger pals and followers. Cheers!

