Holding My Breath

Writing-furiously[1]

I’m tired. No, actually pretty damn exhausted.

It has been a busy couple of months and it’s not really going to slow down much. I have been intensely Editing the manuscript each day in between the usual routine of my daily life.

The Editing has been and will continue to be grueling, since I’m on deadline for passing it off to be professionally edited.

I have been working at my novel since 2007 and have finally reached the point (well in the next week or so) of being able to place it into someone else’s hands.

Never done that before.

I’ve had friends and family read tiny snippets, but this is HUGE! A professional Author will be reading and editing it. It’s terribly frightening, exciting and a gigantic step forward.

Am I technically ready? Sure. Am I really prepared for what will come? No.

I keep psyching myself up for the tears that are sure to follow as my “Baby” is carefully examined and stringently scrutinized. I know it’s not perfect. I just pray that my editor will find, at its core, good bones and a deeply moving and intriguing story worth telling.

I am pretty tight with my characters. Their memories are my memories, their experiences, my experiences, right from the first to the last scene.

I just pray someone else will see the potential and confirm what this whole struggle has been for: That I AM indeed a Writer! That I CAN Write! And… that there is HOPE for great things ahead (well, beyond the Christmas shopping that will replace the editing in the lull of waiting for the results while I hold my breath).

Wish me luck…

Paula Antonello Moore, Thoughts. Copyright: Sunday, November 16, 2014

Image: Calvin, of Calvin and Hobbes cartoon by Bill Watterson