Happy Birthday?

happy-birthday-balloons-hd-wallpaper

“If we didn’t have birthdays, you wouldn’t be you
If you’d never been born, well then what would you do?
If you’d never been born, well then what would you be?
You might be a fish or a toad in a tree.” Dr Seuss

I like to see birthdays as something quite nice
A day full of fun just for you with no price.
Fantastical joy that’s directed with heart
While you can just smile, enjoy and take part.

But there are some people who don’t feel the same
Who’d rather have Birthdays tossed out of life’s game.
Yes these are the ones that hide under the cloud
Who cringe when a fellow shouts greetings quite loud.

I can’t understand it, I just can’t believe
That people would rather ignore or just leave
When kind celebrations are held just for them
When loved ones raise toasts, they would rather condemn.

Is it the attention, the fuss and the cheer
That strickens them all with such pain and some fear?
That sleeping in late or just going for a walk
Would far outweigh cake, bright balloons and light talk?

Well that is not me, not a chance, I would miss
A glorious day to salute and share bliss.
I make it a point to mark everyone’s day
I toast them with greetings, a card, gift or pray

That if I can’t see them, they’ll know that I send
My loyal affection that they are a friend.
I love to make cards that are bright and unique
So any who get one know their life’s not bleak.

That someone somewhere is just taking the time
Acknowledging them with sincerity and rhyme.
I want them to know that their life’s a big deal
That’s meant to be fêted with treats and a meal .

For when it is my turn, I relish the date
I welcome the toasts, special greetings then wait
For evening to get here so I can delight
In sharing my Big Day and feasting at night.

But hey I won’t force it, I won’t be upset
If you are a person who’d rather forget.
I won’t bring the balloons or gifts or the fuss
I won’t dare annoy you or try to discuss.

But know that you are still one special to me
Who should be saluted, and some would agree
But I won’t be doing it, no I won’t declare
I’ll treat you just fine thanks with no lame fanfare

Yet silently though I will send you a thought
With smile, fun stickers not something I bought
I’ll mail out the card and hope that you will take
My personal quiet wish, but with no cake.

To anyone out there marking another year today, I quietly send Happy Wishes to you!

Paula Antonello Moore, Poetry. Copyright: Thursday, April 2, 2015

Image: Happy Birthday Balloons from Party Favor Ideas

