Background Music

I rarely listen to music when I write.

I can’t think clearly enough to process my words and split my attention to background hymns.

However, recently I thought I would play some instrumental music while I edit my manuscript.

It’s tough to choose the right pieces.

You don’t want to be distracted by loud and boisterous scores. You need a quieting calm in behind the words. It should be something that inspires and pushes you as you attempt to perfect your voice, but not get in the way of the creative process.

Perhaps the best kinds of instrumental songs are the ones that start quietly, build slightly and end on a soothing note.

My favourite composer is one of the masters of this style, the great John Williams, maestro of the movies as he is sometimes called. He is director Steven Spielberg’s right hand man when it comes to film-making themes.

john_williams_tribute_by_onenine72-d5dzg6q.jpg

Known for some of the greatest scores etched in our collective memory, including the Olympics opening ceremonies, Saving Private Ryan, Jurassic Park and of course Superman and Star Wars, Mr. Williams has the uncanny ability to lift your soul in a scene or smash your heart into pieces, just by rearranging instruments, adding a choir, and adjusting tempo.

I am really enjoying the experience so far, even if I have to lower the volume from time to time.

Somehow, the music elevates my words and allows me to feel something more profoundly than what I have composed on paper.

It’s not for everyone of course. Sometimes plain old peace and quiet is perfection on its own. And I’m sure I will be returning to that.

But for now as I continue to edit, I will let the music play a little while longer, and we shall see how it influences…

Paula Antonello Moore, Writing & Thoughts. Copyright: Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Video Clip: John Williams, Maestro of the Movies, Hymn to the Fallen, Hollywood Bowl 2014 uploaded by EyezOnJim68.

Collage of John Williams by onenine72 

