A Quiet Mind

A Café Moment:

stillness3-760x504.jpg

“Quiet minds cannot be perplexed or frightened, but go on in fortune or misfortune

at their own private pace, like a clock during a thunderstorm.”

— Robert Louis Stevenson, An Inland Voyage

 

A Quiet Mind.

What exactly is that? What does it mean?

I don’t think my mind is ever quiet.

There is so much in my day that fills every corner, every avenue, that I am never without, or lacking in thought and thus…rarely able to find peace long enough to weather the storm.

Tossed into the fray comes parenting and writing and day to day routine, and dreams of a successful writing career and the cares of the world, and the concerns of family…

Somewhere in all of that I’m meant to still be me. To stay the course. To stand firm ready to tackle whatever comes.

But what if my mind cannot be quieted?

I try.

In prayer, in calming strolls, in the numbing of television. Yet, I am never quite able to experience that calming Quiet.

As a writer, this “un-quietness” is not always beneficial either.

Sure creative thoughts that may direct story development or characterizations can help in producing the work. But what happens when there is a block? When an obstacle lingers and taunts you away from producing anything?

When in the midst of deciphering that block to make some sense out of it, duty calls from another direction? Then the creative thoughts get pushed aside, and motherhood or some crisis or scary news in the world, pulls you in? What then?

Can a Quiet Mind in fact enable you to conquer all of that, juggle everything at once…and allow you to still somehow succeed?

I don’t know the answer.

But I would sure like to get there.

 

Paula Antonello Moore, Writing & Thoughts. Copyright: Wednesday, September 28, 2016.

Image: Bubble from The Voice of Silence

