Happy and Bright

wheel-cropped

A Bright New Year is upon us once again.

Big plans, big dreams are the inevitable intention from a holiday rife with overindulging and inactivity, beyond stuffing our faces and filling our glasses.

Yet, the danger each January brings with it is the temptation to bite off more than we can chew. We set some pretty lofty goals, unattainable New Year’s resolutions and then, in the midst of a slump-of-a-month, find ourselves stricken with misery.

So I’m not going to do that.

I’m not going to try and tackle the mountain.

Instead, I’m going to take things one step at a time, in manageable bits each day. I’m going to better myself with challenges that will push me along but not destroy me in the process.

I want to be Happier, plain and simple.

It’s not that I’m not a happy person. It’s just that so often I let the frustration of un-achievable goals beat me down, pummel me, really, leaving me more miserable than if I had just let well enough alone.

So this year, I want accomplish my day’s fill consciously, carefully and with focused determination. That way, at the end of each night, I can celebrate my accomplishments and not allow perfectionism to seep in and pester, “Why didn’t you do more?”

I think that’s a pretty good place to start.

How about you? Any big plans for 2017?

Wishing a very Happy New Year to all my Café Patrons and thanking you for dropping by The Expressible Café. 

Paula Antonello Moore, Writing & Thoughts. Copyright: Sunday, January 1, 2017.

Image: Wheel of Fortune by P.A. Moore.

via Daily Prompt: Year

