Marshmallow Magic

dean-martin-and-frank-sinatra-christmast-with-daughters

Every year, what I look forward to more than presents, turkey dinners or shoveling snow during the holiday season is the playing of Christmas music.

Without fail, a new Christmas song pops up each winter.

Some are really great like Kelly Clarkson’s “Underneath the Tree” or Coldplay’s “Christmas Lights.” There are the instrumental ones that blare in overhead speakers in stores trying to lift our spirits and fill us with an eagerness to get wrapped up in a happy heart (And stay in the stores long enough to spend spend spend. I get that.)

And of course, the cheerful voices of children belting out their favourites like “Frosty the Snowman,” and “Rudolph the Red-nosed Reindeer” can’t help but make you smile.

Yet, for me, nothing is more magical than the crooners of the past. I remember my parents putting on Christmas specials that were already vintage in my childhood.

When Perry Como asked, “Do You hear what I hear,” I always wanted to respond, “Yes, yes I hear it!” Or what about Louis Armstrong’s “Winter Wonderland?” He still makes me want to run outside and jump in the snow.

No one sings, “Chestnut’s roasting on an open fire…” quite like Nat King Cole in his cozy rendition of “The Christmas Song.”  A good cup of cocoa goes great with that one.

But to me, the real masters were Bing Crosby, Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin.

When Bing Crosby starts the opening bars of “White Christmas,” you can almost imagine the snow falling on cue.

To hear Sinatra goofing around with Dean Martin during the holiday treat, “Marshmallow World,” I can’t help but be transported back to that overwhelming excitement I felt as a child. How I loved the anticipation, the warmth of home, the laughter and exuberance of Christmas morning with my family, the aromas, sights and sounds of traditions.

There is a Magic that begins with the tunes but then takes on a life of its own.

It’s a magic in the feeling, the nostalgia, the comfort of something reliable. It’s a hope for a return to goodness and camaraderie, for a strengthening of friendships and surrounding ourselves with those we love dearly.

It’s a celebration of time, real quality time spent together, when a glass of wine means so much more.

It’s an honest heartfelt pause.

None of us knows what the new year will bring. That’s why its so very important to recognize when things are good and celebrate those moments.

And I for one am so very grateful to be able to mark that each year.

Paula Antonello Moore, Writing & Thoughts. Copyright: Friday, December 16, 2016.

Image: Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin with their families during the Family Christmas Special, 1967 from Rolex Magazine.

